chronic illness

One Lovely Blog Award: Creating Community Among Bloggers

lovely-blog-awardIt has been quite sometime since I have received a notification for any type of blogging award. So, it was rather humbling to click on the bell and see a message stating that a fellow blogger had nominated me for an award called “One Lovely Blog” Award. 

team-386673_640A lot of these awards are ways for other blogs to recognize other sites that they enjoy reading, or has had an impact on them in some way. It may seem arbitrary to an outside observer, and I suppose in someways, it may be, as I am not an richer, my site will not be on the cover of Times Magazine next week, and Donald Trump will likely not tweet about me receiving this award today. Yet, to me, and hopefully to other bloggers who pass it along, this award is a way for each of us to say to each other “good job!”

This award, as well as others like it, serve to create a sense of community. The sense of community is what keeps all of us coming back day after day, week after week, and so on. For many chronic pain sufferers, social media and blogs are a therapeutic outlet where one can express thoughts and emotions to the unseen cyber world that he or she may not feel comfortable expressing to loved ones for fear of burdening them. For others, it is the means of staying connected to loved ones, and the social aspect that develop along the way are a bonus!

Regardless of why anyone is using the internet to share his or her journey, it is a humbling experience to know that somewhere out there someone else is reading about your life’s joys, pains, trials and tribulations and it is impacting his or her life, as well. To be able to reach out and touch another’s life without leaving one’s computer chair, or in my case, my bed, is quite an outstanding thing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFor the sake of time and everyone’s Monday morning, I will stop my rambling, grab a cuppa and get on with the award stuff…

I was nominated by MyGraine a fellow spoonie (chronic pain-er) who chronicles his life with chronic migraines and how it has impacted many areas of his life. Although my primary illness is endometriosis, I have fought migraines since 2001, as well, and am actually dealing with a minor one as I write this post.

Rules:

  • Thank the person that nominated you and leave a link to their blog
  • Post about the award
  • Share seven facts about yourself
  • Nominate at most 15 other people
  • Tell your nominees the good news.

About this award:

A fantastic reminder to be positive and get behind all of the artistry and bravery of those sharing their stories and thoughts.

My seven fantastic facts: 

brumbaugh160
My twin & I at my wedding 9.24.16
  1. I am a twin but we have different birthday – we are more than five minutes a part.
  2. I am a HUGE dog lover, my dream job basically is any job that allows me to bring my dog to work with me!
  3. Starbucks is my drug of choice. I am slowly working towards following the endometriosis diet which involves eliminating caffeine… so my barista and I are working on a break-up plan, it’s quite heart-breaking.
  4. My husband and I met when I was his resident assistant his freshman year of college.
  5. In college, while studying for my Masters degree I got to make meth that was 99% pure and get drunk at a bar to test the accuracy of the breathalyzer.
  6. I am the first in my family to finish college, and go to graduate school and law school.
  7. I am a super nerd and used to study the dictionary with my grandma when I was in grade school so that I could win the spelling bees.

Now, I am only nominating three blogs. This is not because I have not read amazing blogs, but it is because this award has struck me as an award for those posting on sharing ones journey – geared towards the spoonie community, it seems, but also just people being totally bada$$ on the journey of life –  and these three ladies have really struck a cord with me through my short relapsed journey. I have been encourage by them, supported, and have just felt a sense of community build. So, I have nominated the three lovelies below!

Nurse’s Notions

Laura at ribbonrx

Rebecca at On Being Human & Things – Not chronic illness but WOW! A personal journey worth reading

Now, go out and share the love of community with the rest of the world!


Stay Connected to One L of a Journey!

Facebook

Twitter

Want extra content + fun rewards? Purchase a subscription through Patreon today!

patreon-button

Share your thoughts

